Diversity Cohort

Preparing Future Faculty Postdoctoral Program for Faculty Diversity

Members of the diversity cohort gather with Chancellor Cartwright and Jeni Hart

Story and photos by Ryan Gavin

The University of Missouri is committed to the advancement of teachers, scholars and researchers who can help it achieve the benefits of a diverse educational environment. This year, the university celebrated the Preparing Future Faculty Postdoctoral Program for Faculty Diversity with the first diversity cohort.

The program is designed to promote and develop such scholars for tenure-track faculty positions at the University of Missouri and elsewhere, in any discipline. Postdoctoral Fellowships are for two years during which time Postdoctoral Scholars focus on scholarship and participate in an array of professional development activities that integrate and expose them to the faculty experience, including the opportunity to teach in their discipline the second year.

Dr. Jeni Hart, Associate Vice Chancellor for Graduate Studies and Associate Vice Provost for Advanced Studies, kicked off the event. Dr. Tim McIntosh, Vice Chancellor for Research, Graduate Studies and Economic Development and UM System Vice President for Research and Economic Development, also spoke.

This year, there were more than 160 applications to the program with 100 applicants meeting minimum criteria. Chancellor Alexander Cartwright met with and congratulated the six recipients:

  • Loren Bauerband — Health Professions
  • Ruchi Bhattacharya — Natural Resources
  • Sarah Jacquet — Geological Sciences
  • Terrell Morton — Learning, Teaching, Curriculum/Science Education
  • Sofia Ortega Obando — Animal Sciences
  • Nicole Jones— Sociology