2021 Event Details:

Mizzou’s 2021 MLK Day celebration will take place during the week of Jan. 25-Jan, 29, 2021. More details on the exact date and the event to come shortly. Please check back to learn more.
As part of that event, we will also celebrate the 2021 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Awards. Please click the Qualtrics survey below to submit your community award nominations!


MLK Community Award:

Established in 2007, the University of Missouri Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Award recognizes and affirms those in the Columbia community who have made significant tangible contributions in the areas of race relations, social justice and human rights.

Each year, the planning committee selects a Boone County resident or group to receive this award in recognition of extraordinary leadership and inspiration in furthering the goal of achieving greater cultural and ethnic diversity in the community. The award will be presented during the annual campus celebration commemorating Dr. King each January.


Those who have exhibited extraordinary leadership in one or more of the following areas are eligible for this award:

  • Both individuals and advocacy groups may be nominated, but nominees must be residents of Columbia or Boone County.
  • Nominees must not include MU faculty and staff.
  • Nominees should be an individual who or organization that has made significant contributions in building a sense of unity among Columbia citizens.
  • Nominees must work in the area of promotion and developing a mutual respect, understanding and appreciation for the cultural and ethnic diversity within our local and extended community (outside the university academic community).
  • Nominees should have demonstrated ability in building local communities through various activities and programs that help to revitalize areas and make Columbia a more wholesome and desirable place for living, learning and loving.
  • Nominees should have been personally or corporately involved in making tangible, visible, and meaningful contributions to the advancement of race relations, social justice, and/or human rights causes.
  • In recognizing the personal commitment and example that Dr. King stressed and discussed in his speeches for academic achievement, nominees should have demonstrated a personal commitment to scholarship and/or attainment of educational goals despite significant barriers or obstacles (learning disabilities, poverty, etc.). Dr. King was known to challenge his followers to pursue excellence through a commitment to life-long learning. This dream still exists and nominees should demonstrate this desire.
  • Nominees should demonstrate specific accomplishments in reducing barriers that have hindered under served groups from attaining academic excellence. Specific activities or accomplishments could include, but are not limited to, mentoring, tutoring, innovative pre-school programs, highly effective pre-college programs, provision of scholarships, etc. Special consideration will be given to the nominees who provide children access to the tools of technology and incorporate effective parental involvement.

The heart of the award is to recognize individuals who give their time and service freely to those in need without question, often without recognition. This award seeks to honor those who promote Dr. King’s legacy and attempt to make a difference in the lives of others through selfless service. Winners should stand as role models for others to emulate.

Past MLK Award Winners

  • Eliot Battle
  • Almeta Crayton
  • Reverend Raymond Hayes
  • Pamela Ingram
  • Michael Middleton
  • Minority Men’s Network
  • West Boulevard Elementary School
  • Nora Stewart Memorial Nursery School
  • Camren D. Cross
  • Columbia African American Association
  • BOLD (Black + Brown Opportunity Leadership Development) Academy
  • City of Refuge


The planning committee invites you to help sponsor our annual event. The program is free and open to all MU campus and community members as an annual celebration and commemoration of the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

The program is intended to engage our community in interaction that is positive, educational and entertaining. This event includes the presentation of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Community Award and a featured nationally recognized speaker.

Sponsors will be recognized in event materials which are distributed throughout the university and Columbia community. Benefactors are also acknowledged at the event, in the published program, and on our website. Please consider sharing your support by contributing funds to this annual event.

Please contact us at diversity@missouri.edu for sponsorship opportunities!

MLK Planning Committee

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. commemorative committee is comprised of University of Missouri faculty, staff, undergraduate and graduate students, and Columbia community representatives. We seek to engage our students, campus and greater community in interaction that is positive, educational and entertaining.